we are all made of stars

I am hungry.  I am hungry.  This is what propels me to the mountains, to the meadows, to the desert and to riparian forests that murmur secrets among the babbling stream. I plunge into the wilderness which burned only 3 years ago in a blazing inferno that gobbled up thousands of acres in Southern Arizona. I stumble along the rugged trail and catch myself on a charred stump; I wipe my brow, blackened with the remains of ancient trees, woodland creatures, delicate leaves.  Such magnificence, reduced to nothing but a carbon smudge. This fate awaits me too, but for now I’m housed in a body, layered with flesh, coursing with hot red blood. I pant and groan and laugh and piss and shit and contract and expand. I crush lovely mushrooms with careless steps and I trip over the roots of ancient trees and come tumbling down, awkward and so very human. So very much alive.

The sun sets beyond canyon walls and I lie underneath the night sky, my flesh pressed against ancient boulders.  The hardness beneath gives a gentle reminder that I am different, something more transient, like the Perseid meteors that streak brilliantly across the darkness above me. But yet I’m also timeless, my carbon originating from the very stars that glitter above me.

I am nothing.

I am everything.

*  *  *

I have been pretty quiet on the blogging front lately, but was recently featured as a guest blogger at inspired2ignite .  Denise is a fantastic writer who explores themes surrounding recovery, gratitude, and living a full and meaningful life.  I would be honored if you would visit her blog and read my post there– and all the other ones too!

6 thoughts on “we are all made of stars

  1. runningonsober

    Gorgeous. Your writing is so beautiful, I would follow anywhere to read.

    Love the Moby song too.

    “Slowly rebuilding
    I feel it in me
    Growing in numbers
    Growing in peace

    People they come together
    People they fall apart
    No one can stop us now
    ‘Cause we are all made of stars”

    Reply
  2. Bruce Korth

    Hi Katy, My wife and I recently moved back to Minnesota. Crazy? All ’bout family. Right move.
    Take care Dear

    Reply

Leave a Reply

