the harvest of now

It is a special time of year. The nights lengthen, and the earth gives up her bounty in a brilliant harvest.  Even the moon seems more generous, hanging close to the horizon like low hanging fruit.

Blessings are running thick for me these days. Last week, my writing was featured on FreshlyPressed and since then I have had hundreds of new visitors to my blog.  I am honored and I am humbled by the kind words from so many people around the world.  With a simple click from an editor at wordpress.com, these precious and unsolicited gifts came my way.  Thank you all, for visiting and sharing and encouraging and most of all for reading.  I hope you will continue to do so for many years to come.

A few days after my post went live on FreshlyPressed, a stray cat strolled into my living room, rubbed against my legs and claimed me as her own.  In a breath my household expanded from one cat to two, and I smiled, knowing the world can be full of tremendous, spontaneous joy.  And the following afternoon my father and stepmother arrived at their new home in the desert to stay.  I have family living nearby for the first time in nearly a decade. It is wonderful.  It feels like a wrong has been corrected.

There is a lot in pop culture about happiness- how to seek it, and how to keep it.  To me, it seems to be a blend of luck, suffering, patience and courageous truth-seeking. I had to suffer and lose in order to open my arms wider to all the joys in life. Today, things are simple. My days are quiet and calm and full of beauty in a million small ways, and in some larger ways too.   But to get here I had to speak my truth to my lovers and my friends and my husbands and my parents. I had to disappoint, I had to dismantle, I had to be brave. And I had to be patient, for everything circles around eventually. 

I can say with sincerity that things are good, life is good, and I am happy.

soupbone

Soupbone, my new baby

13 thoughts on “the harvest of now

  1. bodysherpa

    Congratulations on being featured in freshlypressed and being able to share your gift more widely. “…luck, suffering, patience and courageous truth-seeking.” These words are like a balm to me as the past days have had me feeling low on luck and high on suffering…always an opportunity to learn greater and greater patience, and to look for the gifts that are there. Thank you for the wisdom and experience you share on our often-times parallel paths.

    Reply
  2. Lucia Maya

    So glad to hear that things have shifted and you’re feeling happy and grateful! It’s so wonderful when the shift happens, and you’ve done good work to get there….AND it comes in its own timing too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

